Furman University home page
*Communication Studies: Articles
Best Bets for Communication Studies Articles
- Communication Source CompleteThis resource offers information for scholars studying mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology. It offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from global titles pertaining to many fields of communication studies.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextThis database provides indexing and abstracts for over 400 publications on television and film, as well as full text for more than 150 journals and books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is an interdisciplinary database, covering a broad range of subjects. It contains indexing for 8,172 publications, with full text for nearly 4,700 of those titles.
- Humanities Full TextH.W. Wilson's Humanities databases cover nearly 400 English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology.
- Nexis UniNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)With information on today's hottest social issues, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and more.
Finding the Full-Text
Need help getting the full-text of an article? Follow the options and instructions below to learn how to access articles online, in-print, and request them from other libraries.
Option 1: Full Text
Look for the purple "FUllText?" button next to an article record in the databases. If Furman has access to that article, even if it's not in that specific database, this button will connect you with the full-text of that article.
Option 2: Known Item Finder
Know the citation information for the resources you need? Fill in the details on the Known Item Finder to see if we have online access through the Furman University Libraries or if you need to make a request through Interlibrary Loan.
Option 3: Google Scholar
Sometimes articles are freely available on Google Scholar, but you can also setup Library Links in your Google Scholar Account to link out to our "FUll Text?" finder. Watch this quick instructional video on Setting Up Furman FUll Text Links in Google Scholar.
Tools & Tutorials
If you're having trouble getting your ideas going, try reading a few encyclopedia articles. Look for keywords in the article and the different ways it's described there. Also check out the Reference List or Works Cited for more information on topic.
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingHow to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- TruncationTired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)
Improve Your Search Strategy
Want to make your searching even better AND faster? Check out these short videos below. Total runtimes are indicated by parentheses.
- Boolean OperatorsHow to use Boolean Operators to improve your search. (2:20)
- NestingIt's not just for the birds! How to use nesting to group keywords to keep your results relevant. (0:41)
- Truncat*Tired of trying to think of all the many ways to say the same word? Truncate it! (0:33)
- WildcardsLearn how to use wildcards for better searching, especially in international literature. (0:26)
- Field SearchingUse the different fields to refine and narrow your search results. (1:05)
- Subject HeadingsUse subject headings to find related items quickly and easily. (1:24)