Delivers the sounds of regions from every continent. Contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Provides coverage in breadth and depth for world music, and is essential for music history, music appreciation, world music courses and ethnomusicology. It currently provides streaming access to over 44,000 tracks from the Smithsonian archives and world music archives in Asia and Africa, and is growing regularly as new recordings are added.
Mango uses common, everyday conversations as the basis of each lesson, so users will be able to start using and appreciating what they learn right away. Its comprehensive methodology includes all four key-language components (vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar and culture) and integrates strategically placed memory building and critical-thinking exercises to help users remember and adapt what they learn. With interactive tools and a rich visual interface, Mango makes the learning process exciting. Mango includes courses for the world’s most popular and widely used languages, and serves about 90 percent of the world’s language learning needs. Mango also provides multiple English As a Second Language courses, each designed for a specific native language. There are Iphone and Android apps available for free download linked to your profile account.
Library Resources in Many Languages
How to search for non-English books and resources at Furman: