Furman University home page
Loading...
MayX 135-The Rise of Professional Baseball in the U.S.: Historical Newspapers
From pre-Civil War professional beginnings to the 1922 Supreme Court Ruling which established professional baseball as exempt from anti-trust law.
SC-Historical
African American Individual Long Run Titles
- Atlanta Daily World (1934-2003)The Atlanta Daily World is the oldest black newspaper in Atlanta, Georgia, founded in 1928.Searchable full text and full image.Avalable through Black Studies Center.
- Baltimore Afro-American: 1893 - 1988Searchable full image of every page of the Baltimore Afro-American including all advertisements from 1893 - 1988.
- Chicago Defender Historical Full Image from 1910Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Defender including all advertisements. The Chicago Defender has been a voice of the black community with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
- Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 1991)Access to the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934 - 1991.
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1936-2005)Weekly. The Sentinel was founded in 1933 by Leon H. Washington Jr. for black readers.Since that time, the newspaper has been considered a staple of African American life in Los Angeles.
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)Searchable full image of every page of the New York Amsterdam News including all advertisements.
- Norfolk New Journal and Guide (1916-2003)The New Journal and Guide is a regional weekly newspaper based in Norfolk, Virginia, and serving the Hampton Roads area. The weekly focuses on local and national African-American news, sports, and issues and has been in circulation since 1900.
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001)Access to the Philadelphia Tribune from 1912 - 2001.
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)Searchable full image of every page of the Pittsburgh Courier including all advertisements.
Individual Digital Titles-Domestic
- Athens, Georgia NewspaperAlternate titles. 1827-1928
- Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Image from 1868Searchable full image of every page of the Atlanta Constitution including all advertisements.
- Atlanta Daily World (1934-2003)The Atlanta Daily World is the oldest black newspaper in Atlanta, Georgia, founded in 1928.Searchable full text and full image.Avalable through Black Studies Center.
- Baltimore Afro-American: 1893 - 1988Searchable full image of every page of the Baltimore Afro-American including all advertisements from 1893 - 1988.
- Boston Globe Historical Full Image from 1872Searchable full image of every page of the Boston Globe including all advertisements.
- Chicago Defender Historical Full Image from 1910Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Defender including all advertisements. The Chicago Defender has been a voice of the black community with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
- Chicago Tribune Historical Full Image from 1849Searchable full image of every page of the Chicago Tribune including all advertisements.
- Christian Science Monitor: Historical Full Image from 1908Searchable full image of every page of the Christian Science Monitor including all advertisements.
- Hartford Courant: Historical Full Image from 1764Searchable full image of every page of the Hartford Courant including all advertisements.
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1936-2005)Weekly. The Sentinel was founded in 1933 by Leon H. Washington Jr. for black readers.Since that time, the newspaper has been considered a staple of African American life in Los Angeles.
- Los Angeles Times Historical Full Image from 1881Searchable full image of every page of the Los Angeles Times including all advertisements.
- Minneapolis Tribune, (1867-1922)This title is now available through a new platform provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services. These digital newspapers were previously available through the subscription site ProQuest. Minnesota State Library Services’ contract with ProQuest expired in 2014 and the digital newspaper pages were transferred to the Minnesota Historical Society.
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)Searchable full image of every page of the New York Amsterdam News including all advertisements.
- New York Clipper, 1853-19247 May 1853 - 12 July 1924 (3605 issues)
- New York Times Historical Full Image from 1851Searchable full image of every page of the New York Daily Times and New York Times including all advertisements.
- New York Tribune Historical 1841-1922 Full ImageSearchable full image of every page of the New York Tribune including all advertisements.
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)Searchable full image of every page of the Pittsburgh Courier including all advertisements.
- Sporting Life (1885-1917)Provided by the LA84 Foundation. This Foundation funds youth sports in Southern California, trains coaches, and examines the role of sport in society. The foundation is the legacy of the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games.
- American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, The (1857 - 1922)Full text access to the The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger.
- American Israelite, The (1854 - 2000)Access to the newspaper The American Israelite from 1854 - 2000.
- Arizona Republican, The (1890 - 2007)Access to The Arizona Republican from 1890 - 2007.
- Cincinnati Enquirer, The (1841 - 2009)Access to The Cincinnati Enquirer from 1841 - 2009.
- Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 1991)Access to the Cleveland Call and Post from 1934 - 1991.
- Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922)Access to the Dayton Daily News from 1898 - 1922.
- Detroit Free Press 1831‐1999Searchable full image of every page of the Detroit Free Press, including all advertisements, from 1831 until 1999.
- Globe and Mail, The (1844 - 2014)Access to The Globe and Mail from 1844 - 2014.
- Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004)Access to the Indianapolis Star from1903 - 2004.
- Jewish Advocate, The (1905 - 1990)Based in downtown Boston, The Jewish Advocate, founded in 1902, is the oldest continually-circulated English-language Jewish newspaper in the United States.
- Jewish Exponent, The (1887 - 1990)The Jewish Exponent is a weekly community newspaper in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and the second-oldest continuously published Jewish newspaper in the United States.
- Louisville Courier Journal (1830 - 2000)Access to the Louisville Courier Journal from 1830 - 2000.
- Newsday (1940 - 1989)Access to Newsday from 1940 - 1989.
- Norfolk New Journal and Guide (1916-2003)The New Journal and Guide is a regional weekly newspaper based in Norfolk, Virginia, and serving the Hampton Roads area. The weekly focuses on local and national African-American news, sports, and issues and has been in circulation since 1900.
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001)Access to the Philadelphia Tribune from 1912 - 2001.
- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786 - 2003)Access to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786 - 2003.
- San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922)Access to the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - 1922.
- St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times (1901 - present)Access to the St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times
- Wall Street Journal HistoricalSearchable full image of every page of the Wall Street Journal including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1889 and continues to an 8-year moving wall.
- Washington Post HistoricalSearchable full image of every page of the Washington Post including all advertisements. Coverage begins with 1877 and continues to a 7-year moving wall.
Individual Digital Titles- Great Britain and Non-Domestic
- Daily Mail Historical ArchiveThe Daily Mail Historical Archive provides more than 100 years of this major UK national newspaper. It can be viewed in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories and images that capture 20th century culture and society.
- Times Digital Archive [London] 1785-1985 Full ImageFull-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London]. The archive covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Provides the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
- Sunday Times Historical Archive (1822-2006)Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
- The Spectator-1828-2008
Actually considered a magazine by the British.
- Irish Times, The and The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016)Access to The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times from 1859 - 2016.
- South China Morning Post (1903 - 1998)Access to the South China Morning Post from1903 - 1998.
- Guardian, The and The Observer (1791 - 2003)Access to The Guardian and The Observer from 1791 - 2003.
- Jerusalem Post, The (1932 - 2008)Access to The Jerusalem Post from 1932 - 2008.
- Korea Times, The (1956 - 2016)Access to The Korea Times from 1956 - 2016.
- Globe and Mail, The (1844 - 2014)Access to The Globe and Mail from 1844 - 2014.
- Toronto Star (1894 - 2015)Access to the Toronto Star from1894 - 2015.
- Scotsman, The (1817 - 1950)Access to The Scotsman from 1817 - 1950.
- Times of India, The (1838 - 2008)Access to The Times of India from 1838 - 2008.
Multiple Digital Titles-Domestic
- Historic Newspapers of South CarolinaPresented by the South Carolina Digital Library (SCDL)
- SC 18th and 19th CenturyAll on this list can be searched through America's Historical Newspapers.
- African American Newspapers
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Features papers from more than 35 states—including significant 19th century titles.
- America’s Historical NewspapersProvides access to early American newspapers from 1690 to1922. Offers over 2000 searchable historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th century newspapers from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Also includes African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998.
- 19th Century US NewspapersProvides digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSimultaneously search more than fifty major historical American and Canadian newspapers, including the largest circulating African-American newspapers.
- Newspapers.comSearch Thousands Of Newspapers And Find Obits, Photos, Birth Records And More.
From the 1700's to 2000's. provide by Ancestry.com and powered by Proquest.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Independent VoicesIndependent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
- Atlanta Historic Newspaper Archive: 1847-192214 Newspapers-Other than the Journal-Constitution which is available in the individual titles list on the
<------- left. - California Digital Newspaper CollectionThe California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.
The CDNC is supported in part by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered in California by the State Librarian. - Connecticut State NewspapersFrom Connecticut St.Digital Library. Mixed runs of different titles:
1840-1947 - ElephindThe World's Largest Historical Newspaper Archive.
Currently:
2,650,653 Newspapers — 2,704 Newspaper Titles. Includes Chronicling America titles as well as titles in Australia, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, and others in the United States. - Georgia Historical NewspapersFrom the Digital Library of Georgia
- Google News ArchiveIncludes newspapers in English and French which are not included in our other newspaper databases.
- Illinois Digital Newspaper CollectionsIncludes historical newspapers outside of Illinois as well, including the New York Clipper, The Vaudeville News, The Ohio Farmer, and several college and university newspapers.
- Indiana Historical NewspapersHoosier State Chronicles: Indiana's Digital Newspaper Program.Only a few of these titles appear in Chronicling America.
- Missouri Digital Newspaper ProjectThe State Historical Society of Missouri is pleased to present a growing collection of digitized historic newspapers. These images are freely available to the public and are keyword-searchable.
Many, but not all titles are included in Chronicling America - New York State Historic NewspapersThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
- Portal to Texas History/NewspapersThe Portal to Texas History operated by the UNT Libraries provides free online access to Texas historical materials to millions of users a year.
Hundreds of historical Texas newspapers are searchable here. - Library of VirginiaThe Virginia Newspaper Project (VNP), established in 1993, has worked to locate, describe, inventory, preserve, and provide public access to United States imprint newspapers housed not only at the Library of Virginia but throughout the commonwealth.
Multiple Digital Titles: Great Britain and China, and elsewhere.
- British Library NewspapersBritish Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
- Nichols Collection of 17th & 18th Century UK NewspapersThis database features the UK newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are included. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England.
- Gale Primary SourcesThe Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
- Welsh Newspapers-1804-1919Welsh Newspapers Online Beta currently lets you search and access over 725,000 pages from over 100 newspaper publications generally up to 1910 and will grow to over 1 million pages as more publications are added during 2014. This resource also includes newspaper content that has been digitised by The Welsh Experience of World War One project.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)The collection of papers, including North China Herald, The China Press, The China Critic, and the China Weekly Review, provides a primary source chronicle of the country's turbulent transition from Imperial rule to the founding of the Republic. The Chinese Newspapers Collection captures all editions published 1832 through 1953.
- ElephindThe World's Largest Historical Newspaper Archive.
Currently:
2,650,653 Newspapers — 2,704 Newspaper Titles. Includes Chronicling America titles as well as titles in Australia, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, and others in the United States.